Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework has been revised (January 2024). The framework outlines the learning and development requirements for schools. At Brookburn we ensure we use the framework consistently to ensure our children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. The Early Learning Goals set out the expectations for the end of reception.
Please refer to our Early Years coverage and sequencing document for further details.


At Brookburn Primary School we are proud that all our pupils will participate in a broad, balanced and stimulating curriculum, where every child’s individual needs are meet and nurtured.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is based around four themes, each of which is linked to an important principle that we embrace throughout our school and which is reflected within our creative curriculum and its delivery. They are:-


A Unique Child

Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through the development of caring, secure and positive relationships with parents/carers and the teacher or teaching assistant who are supporting them within their class.

Enabling Environments

The internal and external environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning with adults being responsive to their differing and individual needs.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected. The framework covers the education and care of all children in the early years, provision, including children with special needs and disabilities.

Foundation Stage Curriculum

The children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS).  Your child will be engaged in a variety of activities, providing a balanced and stimulating curriculum which will develop each child’s potential. We develop children’s interests through observation whilst they are using the continuous provision this in turn informs our planning.

There are three prime areas and four specific areas of learning in the Foundation Stage Framework curriculum:-

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSE)
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development.

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


The children’s learning is further enhanced by the use of the ourdoor learning space, the school grounds (the den, allotments and treasure woods), ICT Suite, the music studio and school hall for dance and P.E.  The children also join the school for some assemblies and other special activities.


Early Years Coverage and Sequencing